Time for a reality test. In fact, I took the test this week. Here’s why:

My phone and internet service is off, because I’m moving. My tenants have become vagrants and aren’t paying the rent. I’ve spent hundreds of dollars preparing for my own move, and I may not be able to move into my new home for weeks. The car broke down Tuesday, eating more money out of my empty wallet. No phone or internet, I can’t generate income. All this “Streisand” in less than one week. Like being stranded with no toilet roll. WHAT A WEEK!

Well, I could look at life as a failure, which wouldn’t be the first time. There are plenty of legitimate excuses. However, excuses won’t get me anywhere, especially ahead. So what did I do?

I put in some motivational cds/mp3s and listened to learn.

>>For instance, the internet may be off, but my computer still works well. I went through my e-mail list and added 97 contacts to call on for my new networking business. If only 5 of this 97 joins my marketing team, that’s way better than borrowing $10,000 from an investor. Contacts are an expotential resource.

>>When I got the porta crib back (Friday), I drove to the library. Libraries have internet access. Back in touch with the world. I contacted the important folk in my life (family and mentors), planned Saturday’s talk show, reached out to some of the new contacts and worked on this blog.

>>Stayed positive. That’s what the tapes helped me to do. STAY POSITIVE!

So the questions are fairly simple, but you have to be honest with yourself when answering them. Go to the mirror, if necessary. In fact, I recommend a long stare at your mug when contemplating these questions.

1) In your work/business life are you currently a success or a failure?

2) Are you a success or failure by accident or by design?

The fact is most of , yes most of the successful people are successful by design. They plan their work, and work their plan. Most of, yes most of the failures fail by design. They do things and events that may be fun and time consuming, but are unproductive towards achieving their work/business goals.

Most of us, and yes I include myself, will give numerous excuses for not succeeding. Someone else got the promotion, not enough money, the boss doesn’t like me, bank won’t loan me the money, my baby brother peed on the report. Funny, how we pat ourselves on the back for our successes: my lucky numbers hit the jackpot.

Here’s the good news. If we can design our failures, we can correctly design our success. Start by deciding what you want to do, or how much you want to earn to be a business success. Scout for someone who is already doing what you want to do, or earning the kind of bling you desire. Ask that person if they will mentor you. If s/he says yes, then do exactly what they tell you to do. Don’t question their authority, unless you’d be committing a crime or it is strongly against your moral upbringing.You must find the mentor. Mentors are too busy to be looking for you.

Final words on this important subject. “Choose your associates carefully. You can only hope to get what they already have!” Your friend, Charles,  may have your back, but don’t ask him how to be a millionaire if he only earns $65,000 a year. He doesn’t know how to make a million!

Regards,


Brian

